Hypochristmutreefuzz to release unpronounceable new album

Belgium’s Hypochristmutreefuzz are at the forefront of Ghent’s noise ­rock scene. Their name comes from an avant­garde jazz piece by Misha Mengelberg.

They will be releasing their debut album ‘Hypopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia’ soon.  The album is a collection of ten frenetic, fuzz­ driven, unhinged and at times seemingly depraved tracks. However, whilst wild and undeniably distinctive Hypochristmutreefuzz understand that a song being intelligent and complex need not exclude it from having a raw, rhythmic energy and a strong sense of melody, conjuring up imagery of a pop ­infused satanic ritual. The band have been compared to the likes of Jesus Lizard, Pere Ubu, Mr Bungle, Butthole Surfers and The Residents.

This translates into their live shows, performing in total darkness with one strobe light per artist and Ramses Van den Eede frantically thrashing and gyrating around the room amongst the audience members. Their bizarre and almost ceremonial live performance is enough to get even the most unassuming and inhibited members of the audience moving. The band have played one­ off gigs all over, from historic underground castle vaults in Southampton, through to the likes of Live at Leeds and Glimps Festival. Following their album’s release in August, the band are set to return to the UK with dates to be announced.

If you’re lucky enough to have heard Hypochristmutreefuzz or have even seen them live before, and believe us, you’d know if you had, then this incredibly strong debut effort should be instantly recognisable as a consummate and direct snapshot of the devastatingly efficient unit; with instruments, ideas and personalities bouncing off each other in an audible culture of creativity. If you’re still yet to hear them, then now is your chance. Throw up your arms. Join the cult.

Hypochristmutreefuzz is:
Elias Devoldere (drums)
Jesse Maes (guitar)
Thijs Troch (synth)
Sander Verstraete (bass)
Ramses Van den Eede (guitar, vocals)