Plain Mister Smith unveils an eclectic EP, ‘New Wave Sangfroid’

Plain Mister Smith dropped his latest EP, New Wave Angst, via Popoganda Records on February 22nd, 2024. Supported by EARMILK, the EP features singles like ‘El Presidente’, ‘New Wave Sangfroid’, and ‘Grade Five and the Ax’, showcasing his unique blend of offbeat indie-folk and introspective lyricism. Formerly of Canadian darkwave band Moev, Plain Mister Smith now also serves as a cellist for the Vancouver Philharmonic Orchestra. His work has garnered attention from various publications including CLASH Mag, NOTION Mag, Under The Radar Mag, EARMILK, NOCTIS Mag, METAL Mag, and Atwood Mag.

New Wave Angst offers a blend of genres appealing to fans of quirky indie folk, reminiscent of artists like Neutral Milk Hotel, Sufjan Stevens, Elliot Smith, and José González. Plain Mister Smith‘s distinct style shines through in his varied arrangements, unique vocals, and sincere yet clever lyrics. From the meandering harmonies of ‘El Presidente’ to the fusion of new wave rhythms and acoustic vibes in ‘New Wave Sangfroid’, his personality is unmistakable.

Plain Mister Smith divulged: “The songs on this EP all touch on existential angst in one form or another. Whether it’s about the trials and tribulations of scraping by as fledging indie band (‘New Wave Sangfroid’), or as a tiny indie label (‘El Presidente’) or exploding with feelings of claustrophobia (‘Run, Fly or Sail’), these songs touch on pulling through by hook or by crook…”

Follow Plain Mister Smith:

FacebookX SoundcloudTikTokYoutubeInstagramSpotify